So, the election is over. The commercials have, thankfully, ceased. The rhetoric is slowly decreasing from its fevered pitch and we are entering that relatively peaceful political space known as the lame duck session. I don’t know about you, but I have, for the most part, tuned out of the 24-hour news cycle, and am sort of in the process of crawling back into my little hobbit hole in the Shire, perfectly content to allow the world to begin to pass me by. I am tired, worn out, ALL of my people lost. You get the drift.

It is in times like this, in the midst of cultural and political upheaval, that Christians must continue to remember those things that are most important. The Apostle Paul put it this way:

I therefore, a prisoner for the Lord, urge you to walk in a manner worthy of the calling to which you have been called, with all humility and gentleness, with patience, bearing with one another in love, eager to maintain the unity of the Spirit in the bond of peace.
(Ephesians 4:1-3 ESV)

How, why are we to walk this way with one another? Why would Paul urge us to walk this way? Well, I’m glad you asked, Paul continues:

There is one body and one Spirit—just as you were called to the one hope that belongs to your call—one Lord, one faith, one baptism, one God and Father of all, who is over all and through all and in all. But grace was given to each one of us according to the measure of Christ’s gift.
(Ephesians 4:4-7 ESV)

Grace was given to each one of us. I forget that sometimes.

Fortunately, grace was given to me in my forgetfulness. Grace is a gift. It is given to us from God who is over all and through all and in all. Will I choose to look past political differences, even those I believe to be important, those that keep me up at night repenting for our nation, and choose to find the one Spirit in my brother or sister with whom I disagree?

Christian Fellowship is a spiritual discipline. It should be challenging, but it should also be a force for good in the world. A force which reminds each one of us that we are moving toward something much greater than we could possibly imagine. We are practicing for eternity with God, and he has given us the responsibility of demonstrating the coming Kingdom to the world around us now.

How will Christians live in fellowship with one another in the eternity that is to come? I am not so sure about the specifics, but I am absolutely certain that it will not look like what many of us all just experienced in this last election season. I think it may be the fulfillment of Paul’s vision for the church, which is really God’s vision.

A new commandment I give to you, that you love one another: just as I have loved you, you also are to love one another. By this all people will know that you are my disciples, if you have love for one another.

May each of us who call ourselves members of Jesus’ body demonstrate in fullness this most lovely command in our lives, in our homes, in our churches, in our communities. By this all people will know we are his disciples.

