It’s my birthday today. I’ve received so many birthday wishes through Facebook, text messages, and so on. I feel loved, appreciated, remembered. It feels good.

I stumbled across this blog post at The Gospel Coalition this morning though that reminded me that I have an amazing wife and that she is the greatest gift to me. She demonstrates grace, toughness, care and compassion in such amazing ways. And she never ceases to inspire and amaze me.

It’s my birthday, and today I want to publicly thank my God for my wife, Jessica, the greatest gift in my life. I am a blessed man who “married up” several levels above me. I am the recipient of grace upon grace because of her. I am a wild, out-of-control man who benefits from having a loving and beautiful helper who helps calm my storms, helps set me on my course, helps me remember who I am in Christ, and who does so with divine grace.

God, thank you for this greatest of gifts. I am undeserving.

Jessica, thank you giving yourself to me. Thank you for sharing this life with me. I can’t imagine life any other way. I love you.

